Howell County Sheltered Workshop Board

Mission Statement
People with disabilities frequently find that they fall through the gaps in the service system. Filling in those gaps is the philosophy and purpose of the Howell County Sheltered Workshop Board.

Our primary goal is to find creative ways to support the families and strengthen the independence of individuals with disabilities. Our mission is to increase choice, respect and competence.

We have a nine member volunteer board of directors appointed by the Howell County Commission. The Howell County Sheltered Workshop Board oversees the activities and funding of services in Howell County for persons with developmental disabilities.

Who’s Who
Wayne Scharnhorst, Chairperson
JoAn Bailey-Russell, Co-Chairperson
Tony Brower, Treasurer
Nancy Heavrin-Secretary
Ken Joplin
Chrys Fisher
Laura Curtis
Kent Thompson
Reta House

Services Available/Provided/Purchased
The Howell County Sheltered Workshop Board partners with Poplar Bluff Satellite Office to continue services for individuals in Howell County with developmental disabilities. These services are provided using the generated Federal funds to provide services of: Day Habilitation, Placement, Personal Assistance, Adaptive Equipment, Respite, Supported Employment and Speech Therapy.

The Howell County Sheltered Workshop Board provides funding for transportation services to and from work for the employees of Ozark Sheltered Industries located in Pomona, Missouri. Southeast Missouri Transportation Service (SMTS) provides all of the necessary aspects of the transportation service.

Eligibility for services includes any person whose disability was onset before the age of 22. The disability is likely to continue for a lifetime and results in major problems in at least two of the following areas: Self-Care; Receptive/Expressive Language; Learning; Mobility; Self-Direction and Capacity for Independent Living or Economic Self-Sufficiency.

Board of Directors Meetings
Board meetings are held every 2nd Tuesday of each month at 6:00 p.m. Meetings are held at The Howell County Next Step Office located at 1432/1434 West 8th Street in West Plains, Missouri. Postings of the meetings are available at The Howell County Next Step Office and are posted on the outside door for public view.

Contact Information
Tricia Edwards
Administrator-The Howell County Next Step
1432/1434 West 8th Street
PO Box 947
West Plains, MO 65775
Phone: 417-256-4898 or 417-293-2040
Fax: 417-256-4889